How to Apply for an FHA Loan in Texas

FHA loans are a type of mortgage loan that is insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA). These loans are available to Texas residents and are a great option for first-time homebuyers. In this article, we will discuss how to apply for an FHA loan in Texas.

Checkout this video:


The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) loan program is one of the most popular mortgage options for home buyers in Texas. FHA loans are attractive to borrowers with limited funds for a down payment and those with less-than-perfect credit, as FHA loans have a lower credit score requirement than conventional loans.

If you’re looking to apply for an FHA loan in Texas, you’ll need to meet the following eligibility requirements:

– You must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien.
– You must have a valid Social Security number.
– You must be of legal age to sign a mortgage loan in Texas (18 years old).
– You must not have been declared bankrupt within the last two years, or have had a foreclosure, deed in lieu of foreclosure, or short sale within the last three years.
– You must not have any delinquent federal debt, such as student loans or taxes owed.
– You must not have any judgements or liens against you.
– You must have a steady income and employment history.

What is an FHA Loan?

An FHA loan is a mortgage that is insured by the federal government. The loan is available to first-time homebuyers and those with low credit scores as it allows them to purchase a home with a lower down payment. While an FHA loan does have some restrictions, it can be a great option for those who may not qualify for a conventional mortgage.

In order to apply for an FHA loan in Texas, you will need to follow the steps below:

1. Find a participating lender. Not all lenders participate in the FHA program, so you will need to find one that does. You can search for participating lenders on the HUD website.

2. Get pre-approved for the loan amount you need. This means that you will need to provide the lender with information about your income, employment, and debts. The lender will then give you an estimate of how much they are willing to lend you.

3. Find a property that meets the requirements of the FHA program. The property must be appraised by an FHA-approved appraiser and must meet certain safety and habitability standards.

4. Apply for the loan and provide all of the required documentation. This includes things like your tax returns, pay stubs, and bank statements.

5. Close on the loan and move into your new home!

Who is Eligible for an FHA Loan?

To be eligible for an FHA loan in Texas, you must meet the following requirements:
-Have a valid social security number
-Be a permanent resident or U.S. citizen
-Not have been declared bankrupt in the past 12 months
-Not have had a home foreclosed on in the past three years
-Have a credit score of 640 or higher
-Have a steady employment history for the past two years
-If self employed, have been so for at least two years and can provide tax returns to prove it
In addition, you must also be buying a property that meets certain standards set by the HUD, which include:
-The property must be your primary residence
-The property must be a single family home, townhome, or approved condominium
-The property must be built after June 15, 1976
-The property cannot have more than two levels

Applying for an FHA Loan

If you’re a first-time homebuyer or looking for a low down payment loan, you may be considering an FHA loan. An FHA loan is a mortgage that’s insured by the federal government. The program is managed by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), which is part of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The FHA doesn’t actually lend money; it insures mortgages, so if you default on your loan, the lender is protected.

You can apply for an FHA loan in any state across the U.S., but you must choose a participating lender. These lenders must follow certain guidelines set forth by the FHA in order to participate in the program. Most of these guidelines have to do with a borrower’s income and credit score, but there are also limits on what types of properties an FHA loan can be used to purchase.

In Texas, there are several different types ofproperties that qualify for FHA financing:
-Single-family homes
-Two-to four-unit homes
-Manufactured homes on permanent foundations
-Condos and townhouses that meet certain criteria

If you’re interested in purchasing one of these types of property with an FHA loan, you’ll need to find a participating lender and get pre-approved for financing. Once you’ve been pre-approved, you’ll work with your real estate agent to find a property that meets all of the requirements for FHA financing.

If you have any questions about applying for an FHA loan in Texas, feel free to reach out to a participating lender or consult with a housing counselor through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

How to Qualify for an FHA Loan

In order to obtain an FHA loan, borrowers must first meet several minimum requirements. These include:
-A credit score of 580 or higher
-A debt-to-income ratio of no more than 43%
-3.5% down payment
-A property that meets HUD standards

To apply for an FHA loan in Texas, borrowers must first submit a loan application to their local FHA office. Once the application is approved, the borrower will be required to provide proof of employment, income and assets. The borrower will also need to complete a credit counseling session and obtain a certificate of completion before the loan can be approved.


If you’re a first-time homebuyer or you haven’t owned a home in the past three years, you may qualify for an FHA loan. FHA loans are backed by the Federal Housing Administration, and they typically have more relaxed qualifying standards than conventional loans. This makes them a good option for first-time homebuyers or for borrowers with less-than-perfect credit.

If you’re interested in an FHA loan in Texas, here’s everything you need to know about how to apply.

Similar Posts